top of page

Old Mill wins Springbrook

Old Mill senior RJ Duncan pinned Bel Air freshman Owen Reilly at 1:47 of their 285-pound championship bout and was among nine Patriots who finished within the top four of their weights and 12 within the top six to overcome runner-up Whitman to win last weekend's Grapple At The Brook Tournament at Springbrook.

Runners-up were sophomore Logan Johnson (113) and junior Tristan Sudama (106), with junior Xxavien MacKell (215) placing third, and juniors Keon Gavin (120) Dominick Hurley (165), seniors Omar Khan (126) and Deven Perry (190), and sophomore Tre Martini (157) all being fourth as the Patriots (212.5 points) held off the Vikings (188.5).

There were also fifth place finishers in juniors Dekhi Church (132) and Noel Norman-Williams (175), as well as a sixth place finisher in junior Ruben Salas (150) for the Patriots, whose 19th-year coach Jim Grim guided the program to Class 4A-3A state tournament titles in 2003 and 2007.

“The wrestle-backs are so important in wrestling tournaments,” said Duncan, a 6-foot-4 defending Class 4A-3A state champion who improved to 25-0. “We motivated each other by saying, ‘If you lost in the championship rounds, keep your heads up and don’t give up.’”

Duncan pinned his quarterfinal opponent, Nayenecke Ituka of Gaithersburg, in 2:11 before winning his semifinal against Clarksburg junior Aiden Navarro-Norris by 17-1 technical fall. Navarro-Norris pinned Ituka for third place.

Ranked No. 3 overall as a 285-pounder in the Legacy Wrestling Maryland High School Rankings, Duncan became the Patriots' 35th individual state champion but only the second at heavyweight since Roy Carter in 1983.

A defending Class 4A-3A East Region tournament champion and an Anne Arundel County tournament runner-up, Duncan is also the Patriots’ first Class 4A-3A state champion since 2011 when 140-pound champion Salaman Riddel defeated LaPlata’s Daniel Brannon, 4-2, to complete a 33-1 season.

Duncan can become the Patriots’ first two-time 285-pound or heavyweight state champion, joining six other repeat title-winners in Chuck Sturm (1982, 1983), Charlie Royer (1984, 1985), Greg Wise (1988, 1989), Chris Combs (1997, 1998), Adam DeCosmo (2000, 2001) and Greg Saumenig (2006, 2007).

“I’ve thought about that, and it really sounds like a great goal and accomplishment,” Duncan said. “But I’ve got to take it one match at a time and that’s all about putting in the work. If I get there, then I get there.”

Duncan and Patriots (23-2) visit Anne Arundel County League rival South River on Wednesday at 5pm in the hopes of avenging a 43-27 loss as runners-up in last month's LaPlata Duals.

Duncan finished last season with a record of 20-2, his last loss coming via 1-0 decision to then-Chesapeake sophomore Delmar White in the county championship bout.

But a few days later, White suffered a season-ending injury in advance of the following week’s regionals, after which Duncan commenced his run for the regional and state crowns.

A 6-foot-2 junior and the second-ranked 285-pounder ahead of Duncan, White has transferred to Archbishop Spalding. There could be a rematch between Duncan and White during a dual meet at Spalding on January 23.

Old Mill's 35 Individual State Champions

(Three-time champ)

Ron Vaughters, 2009, 2010, 2011

(Two-time champs)

Chuck Sturm, 1982, 1983

Charlie Royer, 1984, 1985

Greg Wise, 1988, 1989

Chris Combs, 1997, 1998

Adam DeCosmo, 2000, 2001

Greg Saumenig, 2006, 2007

(One-time champs)

Doug Lombard, 1978

Randy Box, 1979

Roy Carter, 1983

Dan Youngblood, 1985

Ron Howard, 1987

Billy Boyce, 1988

Gary Baker, 1989

Brad Buckley, 1990

Brent Layman, 1991

Brian Layman, 1991

Marc Procaccini, 1992

Todd Hultgren, 1993

Ken Seavey, 1993

Jason Bryant, 1994

Mike Dileonardi, 1995

Paul Hultgren, 1995

Adam Dayton, 2001

Ethan Brown, 2007

Salaman Riddell, 2011

RJ Duncan, 2023

Nine-Time Tournament Champions

1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 2003, 2007, 2009

3-Time Dual Meet Champions

1998, 2000, 2009

413 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page